James H. Burness Award for Excellence in Teaching

Nomination Form (2015)

Each year the Academic Advising Council Subcommittee of the Penn State York Campus Senate seeks nominations of faculty for the James H. Burness Award for Excellence in Teaching. This award is given annually to recognize any aspect of excellent instruction (lectures, demonstrations, classroom activities, handling of discussions, individual attention, laboratory instruction, etc.) that contributes to the academic quality of the Penn State York campus. The purpose of the award is not to identify the “most popular” faculty member but, rather, to recognize excellence in instruction.

All faculty are eligible to be nominated except for recipients of the award in the past four years: Charles (Chuck) L. Kennedy and Judith K. McCormick (2011), Sukhdeep Gill and Stephen K. Lentz (2012), Anne Vardo-Zalik and Christopher Rodkey (2013), and Andy Landis and Jorge Santiago-Blay (2014).

Two awards will be given: one to a full-time faculty member and one to a part-time faculty member. Do not worry if you are unsure whether a faculty member is full-time or part-time, the Teaching Award Committee will divide the nominations accordingly.

This nomination form is for faculty who taught in fall 2014 or are teaching in spring 2015. Be as specific as possible with your comments about your nominee. When the committee receives something such as “she’s a great professor and definitely deserves the award,” it doesn’t help much in making a decision.

Nominations should be submitted by 5:00 p.m. on Sunday, March 15, using the online form below.

Your participation in the selection process is greatly appreciated.

Enter Your Name

Enter Nomination Information